Tags

, ,


Image

Lunch: Green Fried Tomatoes and French Onion Soup

One of my favorite things to eat is Green Fried Tomatoes dipped in ketchup! They are so hard to find in stores, but worth it if you can find them.

  Green Fried Tomatoes

  • 3 to 4 medium, firm green tomatoes
  • Salt/pepper
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup cornmeal
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch
  • vegetable oil to fry in

1. Cut unpeeled tomatoes into slices. Sprinkle slices with salt. Let tomato slices stand for 5 minutes. In a bowl combine the flour, cornstarch, salt/pepper, and cornmeal. In another bowl combine egg and milk, beat together.

2. Heat oil in a skillet on medium heat. Dip tomato slices in the milk mixture, then the flour mixture, some people like to dip them twice in each to make them crisper. I only dip once and they have always worked really well for me.

3. In the skillet, fry the coated tomato slices for 3-5 minutes on each side or until brown. Set the cooked tomatoes on paper towels to drain. Fry all of the tomato slices. These are really good with a little Tabasco sauce or ketchup. I prefer ketchup with mine.

French Onion Soup:

1. For my French Onion Soup, I boil a chicken breast, a carrot, and a small piece of celery until the chicken is cooked.  I then finely chop the pieces up into the broth.

2. In a skillet, fry 1 whole sweet onion thinly sliced in good butter. It is important to caramelize your onions or they will taste raw and bitter.  I add the onions and 1/4 cup Brandy to my broth base. I also add fresh Rosemary and Thyme to the broth.

3. Toast sliced French Bread with butter on top in the oven 350 degrees until lightly golden color.  Ladle the soup into individual bowls and add grated Swiss Gruyere or a little grated Parmesan cheese. Then top it with slices of the toasted French Bread.

