Tags

, ,


Image

Udon Noodle Soup

While living in Asia, I had the opportunity to eat many bowls of noodles!  Every restraunt and home cook has their own way of preparing this dish.  My kids love to come up with new ways to cook noodles; they are an on going experiment in my kitchen.

Follow the directions on the package.  When the water comes to a boil, add 1/2 a beaten egg and stir it in with a fork or chopsticks.  Much like making egg drop soup.  (Traditional Udon Soup has a raw egg placed in the center of the soup, but I do not eat anything raw.)  I then add 4 tablespoons Soy Sauce, 1 tablespoon Oyster-sauce, 2 tablespoons Asian sesame oil, 2 teaspoons of sweet corn, small amount of shredded carrot, 1 teaspoon Rice Wine Vinegar, 1 teaspoon sugar, and the seasoning packet that comes with the soup.  After adding the noodles to the bowl, I sprinkle a dash of toasted sesame seeds on top, and I like to add little pickled ginger on the side of the bowl.

Options: Spring Onions, Shiitake Mushrooms, Spinach, Sriracha Sauce, the list goes on and on.

Itadakimasu! (Let’s Eat!)

